The Appian Way, Regina Viarum,

Nominated For The UNESCO WORLD Heritage List

The site inspection took place on September 25th, with the participation of all the mayors of the involved municipalities.

Latina – The Latium Experience DMO, a mixed public-private association for promoting and commercializing the tourist flows of 12 Municipalities of Latium, the Italian region headed by Rome, is pleased to announce that one of the salient features of its territory, the Appian Way, stretching for about 240 km from Rome to Gaeta, so picturesque that in ancient times it earned the title of Regina Viarum (queen of the ways) and this year it has been classified by National Geographic among the top five tourist destinations on earth, is officially a candidate to become a UNESCO World Heritage Site.


The UNESCO’s site inspection took place on Monday September 25th, with a detailed visit to all the sections being evaluated, specifically involving the 13 Municipalities of the Province of Latina, from north to south, plus others in the Lazio Region.

The visit took place in the presence and with the active support of the Mayor of the Metropolitan City of Rome, the President of the Province of Latina, all the Mayors of the involved municipalities and other territorial bodies, first and foremost the regional parks (such as the ones of Appia Antica, Monti Ausoni, Monti Aurunci and Riviera di Ulisse).

Numerous points are being evaluated: ancient Norba and its archaeological area, the historic center of Terracina and entire stretches of the Appian Way, such as the one between Fondi and Itri.

The outcome is expected by February 2024.

Path The Latium section of the Appian Way starts from the Baths of Caracalla, in Rome, and passes along the Castelli Romani through Albano, Genzano, Ariccia, Nemi, Lanuvio.

Then it embraces the Torrecchia estate, recognized as a “Natural Monument” by the WWF in 2007. Then the Garden of Ninfa, classified by the New York Times among the most beautiful and romantic gardens in the world, the Abbey of Valvisciolo (8th century), witness to the passage of the Templars, and the ancient village of Sermoneta, an important medieval and Renaissance urban centre.

Priverno, Bassiano and the medieval village of Fossanova with its abbey, one of the most significant examples of Gothic[1]circus art in Italy. Then Terracina, passing through the protected area of Campo Soriano and many others, and finally Gaeta, with the evocative panorama of the historic center.

Visit the website

Traductor »